FOCS 2012
53rd Annual IEEE Symposium on
Foundations of Computer Science

October 20-23, 2012
Hyatt Regency, New Brunswick, New Jersey

Call for papers

Submit your paper here (now closed)

Call for workshops

Accepted papers

FOCS 2012 Main Page


53rd Annual IEEE Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS 2012)

New Brunswick, New Jersey, October 20-23, 2012.

The 53rd Annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS 2012), sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing, will be held in New Brunswick, New Jersey on October 21-23 (Sunday through Tuesday). Several workshops and invited tutorial presentations will be given on Saturday, October 20th.

Papers presenting new and original research on theory of computation are sought. Typical but not exclusive topics of interest include: algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography, computational learning theory, computational game theory, parallel and distributed algorithms, quantum computing, computational geometry, computational applications of logic, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, optimization, randomness in computing, approximation algorithms, algorithmic coding theory, algebraic computation, and theoretical aspects of areas such as networks, privacy, information retrieval, computational biology, and databases. Papers that broaden the reach of the theory of computing, or raise important problems that can benefit from theoretical investigation and analysis, are encouraged.

Important Dates:

  • Submission deadline: 5pm PDT, April 4, 2012.
  • Notification: by June 24th, 2012.
  • Final version of accepted papers due: August 15, 2012.

Submission format:

Submissions should start with a title page consisting of the title of the paper; each author's name, affiliation, and email address; and an abstract of 1-2 paragraphs summarizing the paper's contributions. A submission must contain within its first ten pages a clear presentation of the merits of the paper, including discussion of its importance, prior work, and an outline (similar to a brief oral presentation) of key technical ideas and methods used to achieve the main claims. There is no bound on the length of a submission, but material other than the abstract, references, and the first ten pages may be considered as supplementary and will be read at the committee's discretion. Authors are encouraged to put the references at the very end of the submission. The submission should include all of the ideas necessary for an expert to verify fully the central claims in the paper. Finally, the submission should be addressed to a broad spectrum of theoretical computer scientists, not solely to experts in the subarea.

The extended abstract should be typeset using 11-point or larger fonts, in a single-column, single-space (between lines) format with ample spacing throughout and 1-inch margins all around. Submissions deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

All submissions will be treated as confidential, and will only be disclosed to the committee and their chosen sub-referees.

Submission instructions:

Authors are required to submit their extended abstracts electronically, in PDF (without security restrictions on copying or printing). Detailed instructions will be available via a link from the call for papers Web page in March. Submissions will be judged solely on the basis of the extended abstract submitted by the deadline; postdeadline revisions will not be allowed.

On-line posting:

Authors are encouraged to post full versions of their submissions in a freely accessible on-line repository such as the arxiv, the ECCC, or the Cryptology ePrint archive. (Papers that are not written well enough for public dissemination are probably also not ready for submission to FOCS.) We expect that authors of accepted papers will make full versions of their papers, with proofs, available by the camera-ready deadline. (This should be done in a manner consistent with the ACM Copyright Policy.)

Prior and simultaneous submission:

The conference will follow SIGACT's policy on prior publication and simultaneous submissions. Work that has been previously published in another conference proceedings or journal, or which is scheduled for publication prior to December 2012, will not be considered for acceptance at FOCS 2012. Simultaneous submission of the same (or essentially the same) abstract to FOCS 2012 and to another conference with published proceedings or journal is not allowed. The program committee may interact with program chairs of other (past or future) conferences to find out about closely related submissions.


The Machtey award will be given to the best paper or papers written solely by one or more students. An abstract is eligible if all authors are full-time students at the time of submission. This should be indicated at the time of submission. All submissions are eligible for the Best Paper award. The committee may decide to split the awards between multiple papers, or to decline to make an award.

Presentation of Accepted Papers:

One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present the work at the conference.

Program Committee:

Susanne Albers Humboldt-Universit├Ąt zu Berlin
Nikhil Bansal Eindhoven University of Technology
Mark Braverman Princeton University and University of Toronto
Harry Burhman CWI Amsterdam and University of Amsterdam
Moses Charikar Princeton University
Anupam Gupta Carnegie Mellon University
Adam Klivans University of Texas at Austin
Swastik Kopparty Rutgers University
Yishay Mansour Tel Aviv University
Rasmus Pagh IT University of Copenhagen
Rafael Pass Cornell University
Ramamohan Paturi University of California, San Diego
Sofya Raskhodnikova Pennsylvania State University
Aaron Roth University of Pennsylvania
Tim Roughgarden (chair) Stanford University
Alexander Russell University of Connecticut
Amit Sahai University of California, Los Angeles
C. Seshadhri Sandia National Laboratories, Livermore
Berthold Vöt;cking RWTH Aachen University
Jan Vondrak IBM Almaden
David Woodruff IBM Almaden

Contact Information:

General Chair: Program Committe Chair: Local Arrangements Chairs:
David Shmoys
Cornell University

Tim Roughgarden
Stanford University

Rebecca Wright (Rutgers)
Lisa Zhang (Bell Labs)