FOCS 2010
51st Annual IEEE Symposium on
Foundations of Computer Science

October 23-26, 2010
Monte Carlo Hotel, Las Vegas

Call for papers

How to submit

Accepted papers
(with abstracts)

FOCS 2010 Main Page


51st Annual IEEE Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS 2010)

Las Vegas, Nevada, October 23-26, 2010.

The 51st Annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS2010), sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing, will be held at the Monte Carlo Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 24-26, 2010. A series of tutorial presentations will be given on October 23. Papers presenting new and original research on the theory of computation are sought, including papers that broaden the reach of computer science theory, or raise important problems that can benefit from theoretical investigation and analysis.

Important Dates:

  • Submission deadline: April 7, 2010, 7pm PST.
  • Notification: June 29, 2010
  • Final version of accepted papers due: August 6, 2010

Submission format:

Authors should submit an extended abstract, which should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. Authors are expected to include all the ideas necessary for an expert to verify the central claims in the paper.

There is no bound on the length of a submission, but a submission must contain within its first 10 pages a clear presentation of the merits of the paper, including (i) what the paper's main contributions are, (ii) why these contributions are of interest, and (iii) how the new contributions relate to prior work. Material other than the abstract, references and the first 10 pages may be considered as supplementary and will be read at the committee's discretion.

The extended abstract should be typeset using 11-point or larger fonts, in a single-column format with ample spacing and 1-inch margins all around.

All submissions will be treated as confidential, and will only be disclosed to the committee and their chosen sub-referees.

While there is no page limit for the submissions, there will be a page limit for the proceedings version. Authors are strongly encouraged to post a full version of their accepted papers on a freely accessible forum such as, for example, the arxiv, the ECCC, or the Cryptology ePrint archive.

Submission instructions:

Papers must be submitted electronically. See for electronic submission instructions.

Simultaneous submission:

Abstract material that has been previously published in another conference proceedings or journal, or which is scheduled for publication prior to December 2010, will not be considered for acceptance at FOCS 2010. Simultaneous submission of the same (or essentially the same) abstract to FOCS 2010 and to another conference with published proceedings is not allowed.


The Machtey award will be given to the best paper or papers written solely by one or more students. An abstract is eligible if all authors are full-time students at the time of submission. This should be indicated at the time of submission. All submissions are eligible for the Best Paper award. The committee may decide to split the awards between multiple papers, or to decline to make an award.

Program Committee

Scott Aaronson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dorit Aharonov, Hebrew University
Eli Ben-Sasson, Technion
Julia Chuzhoy, Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
Ryan O'Donnell, Carnegie Mellon University
Roberto Grossi, University of Pisa
Nick Harvey, University of Waterloo
Adam Kalai, Microsoft Research
Nicole Immorlica, Northwestern University
Yuval Ishai, Technion and University of California, Los Angeles
Lap Chi Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
James Lee, University of Washington
Tal Malkin, Columbia University
Joe Mitchell, Stony Brook University
Dana Moshkovitz, Institute for Advanced Study
S. Muthukrishnan, Rutgers University
Christos Papadimitriou, University of California, Berkeley
Sofya Raskhodnikova, Penn State University
Steve Skiena, Stony Brook University
Mikkel Thorup, ATT Research
Luca Trevisan (chair), Stanford University and University of California, Berkeley
Eric Vigoda, Georgia Institute of Technology