46th Annual IEEE Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS 2005)

Pittsburgh, PA
October 23-25, 2005

The 46th Annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS 2005), sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing, will be held in Pittsburgh, PA, October 23-25, 2005. Papers presenting new and original research on theory of computation are sought. Typical but not exclusive topics of interest include: algorithms and data structures, computational complexity, cryptography, computational geometry, computational game theory, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, randomness in computing, parallel and distributed computing, machine learning, applications of logic, algorithmic algebra and coding theory, theoretical aspects of databases, information retrieval, networks, computational biology, robotics, and quantum computing. More information on the conference is available on the FOCS 2005 web site:

Important Dates:
Submission deadline:
Paper must be received by Friday April 8, 2005 (16:59 EDT) or postmarked by March 30, 2005.
Accept/reject decisions will be made by June 24, 2005.
Final versions:
Final versions of accepted papers due Aug 5, 2005.

Abstract format:
Authors should submit an extended abstract (not a full paper). The submission should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. The length should not exceed ten (10) letter-sized pages (not including the bibliography and figures) using 11-point or larger font, with ample spacing and margins all around. More details may be given in an appendix, but any material beyond the 10-page limit may be ignored at the discretion of the Program Committee. Abstracts deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Abstract submission:
Authors are strongly encouraged to submit their extended abstracts electronically. A detailed description of the electronic submission process is available at:
Authors who are unable to submit electronically must send seventeen (17) printed copies (double-sided preferred) of an extended abstract, together with a cover letter, to:
Eva Tardos
FOCS 2005 Program Chair
Dept. of Computer Science
Cornell University, 
4130 Upson Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853

To facilitate notification, authors submitting printed copies should also send an e-mail, to, indicating that they are submitting in this manner. The abstract, in either form, MUST be received by 16:59 EDT April 8, 2005 or postmarked by March 30, 2005. Late submissions will be rejected. Simultaneous submission of the same (or essentially the same) abstract to FOCS and to another conference with published proceedings is not allowed.

Authors will be sent notification of acceptance or rejection by e-mail on or before June 24, 2005. A final copy of each accepted paper is required by Aug 5, 2005. Again this is a firm deadline. An author of each accepted paper must attend the symposium and present the paper, or make alternative arrangements to have it presented.


Machtey award:
This prize will be given to the best paper written solely by one or more students. An abstract is eligible if all authors are full-time students at the time of submission. This should be indicated through the electronic submission process or by email to the program chair. The program committee may decline to make the award, or may split it among several papers.


Program Committee:
Ziv Bar-Yossef Technion
Paul Beame University of Washington

Ran Canetti

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Irit Dinur

Hebrew University

Ashish Goel

Stanford University

Venkatesan Guruswami

University of Washington

Sariel Har-Peled

University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Michael Kearns

University of Pennsylvania

Richard Lipton

Georgia Institute of Technology

Frank McSherry

Microsoft Research

Satish Rao

UC Berkeley

Omer Reingold

Weizmann Institute of Science

Eva Tardos (chair) Cornell University  
Mikkel Thorup AT&T
Berthold Voecking RWTH Aachen
John Watrous University of Calgary
Mihalis Yannakakis Columbia University
David Zuckerman University of Texas at Austin

Information about local arrangements can be obtained from the Local Arrangements Web page at, or from the Local Arrangements Chairs.

Avrim Blum and Anupam Gupta
Department of Computer Science
Carnegie Mellon University
Wean Hall
Pittsburgh PA 15213  and