FOCS 98 Information URL: http://theory.stanford.edu/~focs98

The Thirty-ninth Annual Symposium on Foundations of Computer Science (FOCS), sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Mathematical Foundations of Computing, will be held in Palo Alto, California, on November 8-11, 1998. Note that, unlike previous years, the conference will run from Sunday through Wednesday and will include one day of tutorials.

Tutorials: The first day of the conference, Sunday, will be used for tutorials covering specific areas of interest to the community, focusing on new areas for research. Anyone interested in presenting a tutorial in a specific area may contact the program chair ( focs-chair@cs.stanford.edu). Further details about the tutorials will be available shortly on the conference web site.

Abstract submission: Papers presenting original research on theoretical aspects of computer science are sought. Typical but not exclusive topics of interest include: algorithms and data structures, complexity theory, computational algebra and geometry, computational biology, cryptography, databases, machine learning, algorithmic graph theory and combinatorics, applications of logic, parallel and distributed computation, probabilistic computations, computer architectures, and robotics.

Authors should send seventeen (17) copies of an extended abstract (not a full paper) to:

Rajeev Motwani, FOCS 98 Program Chair
Gates Computer Science Building, 4B
Department of Computer Science
Stanford University
Stanford, CA 94305-9045

An abstract should start with the title of the paper, each author's name, affiliation, and electronic address, and a one-paragraph summary of the results. A scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results should follow, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. The length should not exceed ten (10) letter-sized pages (not including the bibliography, and using 11 point or larger font, with ample spacing and margins all around). More details may be given in an appendix, but any material beyond the 10-page limit may be ignored at the discretion of the Program Committee. Abstracts deviating significantly from these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Electronic submission will be possible via the following URL:


Further information will be available through the World Wide Web using the FOCS 98 information URL:


Unprintable PostScript submissions, and PostScript submissions formatted for paper size other than 8 1/2 x 11 inch paper risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

The abstract (whether sent by hard copy or by electronic submission) must be received by 16:59 EST May 4, 1998 (or postmarked by April 27, 1998 and sent via airmail or express mail). This is a firm deadline. Simultaneous submission of the same abstract to FOCS and to another conference with published proceedings is not allowed.

Notification: Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by a letter mailed by July 1, 1998.

Important: Electronic mail to the program committee chair should be sent to focs-chair@cs.stanford.edu rather than to an individual.

A final copy of each accepted paper is required by August 17, 1998. This is again a firm deadline. The copy may be either on special forms, which will be sent to the authors, or typeset on 8 1/2 by 11 inch pages. An author of each accepted paper must attend the Symposium and present the paper, or make alternative arrangements to have it presented.

Machtey award: This prize will be given to the best paper written solely by one or more students. An abstract is eligible if all authors are full-time students at the time of submission. This should be indicated in the submission letter. The program committee may decline to make the award, or may split it among several papers.

Committee members: The program committee consists of Miklos Ajtai (IBM Almaden), Mihir Bellare (UC San Diego), Allan Borodin (Toronto), Edith Cohen (AT&T Labs), Sally Goldman (Washington), David Karger (MIT), Jon Kleinberg (Cornell), Rajeev Motwani (chair, Stanford)), Seffi Naor (Technion), Christos Papadimitriou (Berkeley), Toni Pitassi (Arizona), Dan Spielman (MIT), Eli Upfal (Brown), Emo Welzl (ETH Zurich), David Williamson (IBM TJ Watson), and Frances Yao (Xerox PARC).

Local arrangements: Information about local arrangements can be obtained from the Local Arrangements Chair:

Michael Mitzenmacher
Digital Systems Research Center
130 Lytton Ave.
Palo Alto, CA 94301

Back to the FOCS '98 homepage